Being arrested after receiving a DUI in Orlando, Florida, can be quite a stressful situation. It can seem natural to start panicking. However, what’s important is to stay calm and think logically. Here are some tips about the first steps you should take:
1. Make sure to find a good lawyer
Keep in mind that there’s no distinction in Orlando or Florida for that matter, between Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). They’re both serious offenses in Florida, and they’re both equally serious. A DUI case can be challenging, so it’s always important to have a good attorney. It’s important that the attorney has the knowledge and experience to give the client the best chance at being successful in the case.
2. A DUI In Florida is typically charged as a misdemeanor
This is true throughout the Sunshine state, including Orlando. However that doesn’t mean that you’re automatically going to be out of the woods soon. It’s still a fairly major offense, and the case can last for quite a while. Not only that, but it can affect various aspects of your life, including your personal and social life. So it’s always critical to find yourself a good lawyer in Orlando.
3. Know what will happen after your arrest
You’ll experience various things after being arrest for a DUI in Orlando. You’ll be kept in prison for eight hours or more. Also, your driver’s license will be suspended right on the spot. If your license was valid when the incident happened, you can drive with your DUI ticket for the following 10 days.
From the time of the incident you’ll have 10 days to ask for a formal review hearing and receive your driver’s license back. This is the 10 day rule. You can also obtain a temporary permit, which allows you to drive for a maximum of 45 days until the date of your hearing.
4. Know the legal consequences of being arrest for DUI in Florida
In fact, there are several consequences that you should expect after being arrested. You will be required to serve up to half a year in jail. Your driving privileges will be suspended for 6-12 months. If you’re arrested for DUI you’ll also be required to complete community service equaling 50 or more hours. You’ll also be required to pay a fine between $250-$500, plus the court costs. Other consequences include up to a year on probation, completing a victim awareness program, and having your vehicle impounded.
The most critical issue is that a permanent DUI conviction will be on your criminal record.
5. Be aware of the Ten Day Rule
This rule states that a driver has 10 days from the date of the DUI arrest , to ask for a formal review hearing , and challenge the Administrative Suspension of the driver license. If this hearing is requested within the 10 day period, a temporary license will then be issued.